Weather in New Zealand

New Zealand — Silly poems for your backpack

Michael Freer
1 min readApr 7, 2023
Milford Sound in Summer?!

Four seasons in a day,
That’s what they’ll all say,
But we get that in the UK too.

Rain, sun and snow
And a wind that’ll blow you,
All the way to Timbuktu

Then I was in Te Anau in the summer,
The weather was hot,
I’d spent my day walking in the shade.

An overnight kayaking adventure,
Through the Doubtful Sound,
Then the leader called to say.

Snow has been forecast,
But there’ll be a storm first,
We’ve got to change our plans.

I didn’t believe her,
The next morning was nice,
We met and got on the bus

Then as we progressed,
The clouds moved over,
And the temperature was no longer in the plus.

We did a short boat trip,
Yet had to return,
Back to my hostel I would go.

Four seasons in a day,
I finally understood,
When I awoke to mountains covered with snow.

While I travel, I enjoy writing a bit of poetry, mostly silly stuff, but all to remember the fun I had.

I publish them all on Medium, so check out my other poems here.

--

--

Michael Freer

Social enterprise enthusiast, avid traveller and fiction writer. www.ensoco.co.uk