At 18

A poem of that age

Michael Freer
1 min readSep 4, 2024
Photo by Rosie Sun on Unsplash

Just a month as an adult,
When this fresh face
went to a new place.
A new start, a new me
but it wasn’t to be.

You can’t run away
from what is ultimately you.
So you’ve got to make do,
improve what you must
and stick with what you trust.

A new place with others
from all over the UK, and more.
Saying things not heard before.
Nights out, cheese toasties now alone,
between the old and new sense of home.

Some comfort from friends online,
but the need to shift to be alive.
Nights in, bong lit, just to try,
a lack of sleep, a sadness descends
some some more, to mix with friends.

Paranoia and faces of kids,
Had I lost my mind, or myself?
I kick myself, to focus on health.
To escape all that dragged me down
and put myself back on solid ground.

Spring was on its way now
Outside and inside, body and mind.
A realisation that it’s up to me to find
all that uplifts me and those near
and to accept, but adapt, all that I fear.

--

--

Michael Freer

Social enterprise enthusiast, avid traveller and fiction writer. www.ensoco.co.uk